Oxford Camerata and Mayfield Consort

Fauré Requiem as originally conceived with eight strings and organ

Saturday 17 July 2021, 7.30pm St Dunstan’s Church Mayfield £45, £20, £5

Crucifixus (c1718) Antonio Lotti (1666-1740)
Ave verum corpus K618 (1791) Wolfgang Amadéus Mozart (1756-91)
Elegy (1944) George Thalben-Ball (1896-1987)
Da nobis pacem Domini (1831) Felix Mendelssohn (1809-47)
Geistliches Lied op. 30 (1856) Johannes Brahms (1833-97)
Prière à Notre-Dame (1895) Léon Boëllmann (1862-97)
Cantique de Jean Racine op. 11 (1865) Gabriel Fauré (1845-1924)

Fauré wrote his Requiem for the funeral of a Parisian doctor. The piece was under-appreciated by the clergy at the society church of The Madeleine in the 1880s, yet Fauré’s Requiem has subsequently become one of the most highly regarded choral pieces of all time. In this concert, the Requiem is preceded by some of the sacred masterpieces of Fauré’s 18th- and 19th-century predecessors – Antonio Lotti, Mozart, Mendelssohn, and Brahms.

Jeremy Summerly Director of Oxford Camerata, Andrew Benians Director of Mayfield Consort; soloists Angus McPhee & Grace Stephens Spada


Tonight’s concert are kindly sponsored by Mr and Mrs Simon and Caroline Tindall