Oxford Camerata and Mayfield Consort

This performance of Gabriel Fauré’s Requiem is dedicated to the memory of Dr. Rachael Ward

Saturday 17 July 2021, 7.30pm St Dunstan’s Church Mayfield £35, £10, £5

Fauré Requiem as originally conceived with nine strings and organ

Crucifixus (c1718) Antonio Lotti (1666-1740)
Ave verum corpus K618 (1791) Wolfgang Amadéus Mozart (1756-91)
Elegy (1944) George Thalben-Ball (1896-1987)
Da nobis pacem Domini (1831) Felix Mendelssohn (1809-47)
Geistliches Lied op. 30 (1856) Johannes Brahms (1833-97)
Prière à Notre-Dame (1895) Léon Boëllmann (1862-97)
Cantique de Jean Racine op. 11 (1865) Gabriel Fauré (1845-1924)

Fauré wrote his Requiem for the funeral of a Parisian doctor. The piece was under-appreciated by the clergy at the society church of The Madeleine in the 1880s, yet Fauré’s Requiem has subsequently become one of the most highly regarded choral pieces of all time. In this concert, the Requiem is preceded by some of the sacred masterpieces of Fauré’s 18th- and 19th-century predecessors – Antonio Lotti, Mozart, Mendelssohn, and Brahms.

Jeremy Summerly Director of Oxford Camerata, Andrew Benians Director of Mayfield Consort; soloists Alex Jones and Grace Stephens Spada

Tonight’s concert are kindly sponsored by Mr and Mrs Simon and Caroline Tindall


Mid-Summer Music Weekend Concerts are all being Live Streamed

Watch live on Saturday 17 July 2021 from 7.30pm – https://youtu.be/7xMsznLM2C8